The Aftermath

Enough time has passed and the reality has set in that Mr. Mitchell., while he may have used questionable sources, was on the money with most if not all of his allegations. When I first read the report I was infuriated, as you can tell from my previous post, I thought the entire document was a study on the legal concept of hearsay. But the dam seems to have cracked and some admissions are starting to trickle down, I am now just waiting for the flood. It may be yet  another knee jerk reaction to make that assumption after only a handful of players have admitted guilt, but it is certainly hard to ignore (as I wish I could).I can’t say I was shocked by Brian Roberts admission that he used Steroids once in 2003 as Larry Bigbie had claimed, but I am surprised that he and all of his fellow users might think that their admissions somehow make them the beacons of truth in Major League Baseball. Oh Brian thank you for telling the truth but let me ask you this……remember when Jason Grimsely named you a couple of years ago, where was this guilt ridden, faith filled apology? I don’t give any of these players (Pettite, Roberts, etc.) any credit for admitting this now after they have been accused before, after which nothing was said and Roberts quipped "I passed all the tests, I never failed a test."

"In 2003, when I took one shot of steroids, I immediately realized that
this was not what I stood for or anything that I wanted to continue
doing. I never used steroids, human growth hormone or any other
performance-enhancing drugs prior to or since that single incident. I
can honestly say before God, myself, my family and all of my fans that
steroids or any performance-enhancing drugs have never had any effect
on what I have worked so hard to accomplish in the game of baseball. I
am very sorry and I deeply regret ever making that terrible decision.
My only hope and prayer is that the Orioles, my family, friends and
fans that have supported me so faithfully will forgive me."

Leave a comment